Research & Education

Fulton County has more than 20 colleges, universities and technical schools that produce a steady stream of quality graduates in a variety of disciplines.  Among them are the Georgia Institute of Technology; Georgia State University; the Atlanta University Center, which consists of Morehouse College, Morris Brown College, Spelman College, Clark Atlanta University, and the Morehouse School of Medicine.

Located in neighboring DeKalb County are the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Emory University, often referred to as the “Harvard of the South” because of its outstanding professional schools in nursing, medicine, law and theology.

Fulton County excels also in technical education with a number of private and public vocational/technical schools offering some 50 programs of study. Curriculum at these schools are very adaptive with new programs in biotech and film & entertainment.

Fifty-one private schools, many of which have national reputations for excellence, augment Fulton County’s 55 public elementary, middle and high schools.

English for speakers of other languages (ESOL) is offered by the Fulton County and City of Atlanta school districts.  North Fulton High School, which specializes in international studies, offers a baccalaureate degree that is recognized by most European school systems.  The Georgia Japanese Language School, German Saturday School, and Alliance Française D’ Atlanta are among several institutions that offer international students an opportunity to maintain proficiency in their native languages and cultures.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay informed about developments in Fulton County!
Research & Education - Fulton County, GA